Strobing Secrets

Strobing/Highlighting is a 2016 beauty trend that continues to evolve. Highlighting enhances certain features/areas of the face as the glow/shimmer reflects light, giving you a dewy, luminous and youthful glow.

I am a huge fan of highlighting and wanted to share some products that I have been particularly impressed with. Strobing is the new ‘hot topic’ in beauty, but it is important to know where to apply the highlight. Below are a list of areas that will benefit from a little highlight:

– Under the brow bone to define and lift the brow

– On the very top of the cheekbones to help define them

– On the bridge of the nose to slim and lift

– On the inner corner of the eyes to make them appear larger

– Just above the cupids bow to emphasise your pout

It is important to use highlighters that match your skin tone and to invest in a good fan brush when using powders.

I am a fan of both liquid based and powder highlighters. For a more subtle look I opt for a liquid and dab it on with either my fingers (the ring finger is the most gentle, so when dabbing around the eye, I use this finger) or a small beauty blender to ensure I have control and direction as to where I apply it.

IMG_5180

The Sleek Barekissed Illumiantor (Monaco), NYX Born to Glow Illuinator (Sunbeam) & Makeup Academy Undress Your Skin Illuminating Liquid Glow (Champagne) are by far my favourite liquid highlighters. The nossles are small, so you can stay in control of how much you want to apply and they blend super evenly into the skin. They are also build-able, so you can opt for a subtle, or a dramatic look.

IMG_5174

If I want a more dramatic highlight I opt for liquid as a base and using my fan brush, I apply a powder highlight on top. When choosing a more dramatic highlight look, try to build the product on little by little to ensure you remain in control of the product. In terms of powder highlighters I would recommend the Makeup Academy Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter (Iridescent Gold).

Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24HR Gel Cream Shadow works well as a highlighter – I use the colour 05 – Eternal Gold and it lasts all day.

IMG_5156

The Sleek Highlighting Palette – Precious Metals is a quad of three liquid highlighters and one powder highlighter. I prefer the liquid highlighters in this palette as opposed to the powder as they show up more. This palette is a great buy for a combination of tones and the chrome packaging is very pretty too.

Thank you for reading,

Annie Shah X

Subscribe By Email – ANNIESHAHBLOG

Instagram – @annieshah01

Leave a Reply

